Wednesday Wonderful: Letters

October 27, 2010 § 8 Comments

Imagine this: every day you open your mailbox to get out the bills, reminders and paper. Suddenly one morning you see a cute envelope in there. A letter from an old friend, a family member you don’t see often or that one special and wonderful person. Almost naturally a smile lights up your face.

Writing a letter is such a thoughtful thing to do. And with thoughtful I mean that literally: you think about a person, want to tell them something and put those thoughts onto paper for them to hold and read.

Writing a letter for me is creating the opportunity to take my best fountain pen, select a nice sheet of paper and get my (hopefully) prettiest longhand out.

And as much as I love writing letters, I also love receiving them. In that way I’m very lucky with a couple of friends who are stellar letter-writers. And even though most of them often apologise for their “ugly handwriting” it is always a nice and lovely gesture.

How about you? How do you feel about writing letters?

 

 

§ 8 Responses to Wednesday Wonderful: Letters

  • Claire says:

    I like getting letters or postcards, it’s nice and seems more personal than an e-mail.
    I posted your birthday present last week, I hope it’ll arrive in time for your birthday.

  • Mary says:

    I used to send letters all the time when I was in middle and high school; my mother even bought me sealing wax and a stamp for a little extra flair. I never had a fountain pen and ink, though. Do you have any suggestions for brands or writing techniques if I were to try picking up letter-writing again?

    Thanks!

    • Karen says:

      I have a Parker fountain pen from the Urban Premium line at the moment and I love it. However I can’t recommend a brand to you. The best advice I can give you is to go to a shop and try out a LOT of pens. Hold them, write with them. It’s important how they feel in your hand. I do prefer the more heavier pens as they write more easily. You don’t have to press yourself :)

  • Jen says:

    I honestly don’t remember the last time I sent someone a letter. I remember enjoying sending/receiving them whenever I did do it though.

  • I love this post! This seems to be such a lost language in our today’s technological world. I love receiving and sending letters. I recently went crazy buying new stationary so I can get back to this!

    • Karen says:

      Thank you for the lovely comment. I just read a couple of your posts and they’re awesome (the one on homesickness is just spot on).

      I’m trying to figure out what kind of stationary I’d like to buy. At the moment I write my letters on A4 sheets from my sketchblock… hahaha

      • Thanks for visiting!

        I was on a trip to Atlanta recently and stumbled into the Paper Source store. Stationary Heaven! There web site has some great deals too. But I loved the selection in the store.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wednesday Wonderful: Letters at A Simple Cup of Tea.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.